Early Spring Rain

While my D700 was away (getting it quoted, possibly upgrading), I decided to take my new Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7 camera out on a run. It was right after a storm passed through, and the colors and lighting were great. Running with a camera is something I had never done before and it was really a lot of fun! I felt like Galen Rowell going for a run on some mountain trail chasing the perfect light. Sure, I was just running on a trail through the nearby park, but that’s not the point. Anyway, here’s some of the shots I was able to get.

I call this one The Shy Flower. It was like this little guy was hiding his great color amongv the vast sea of green. It seems like there is a life lesson in this shot -  something about letting your brilliance and uniqueness shine through.

I call this one The Shy Flower. It was like this little guy was hiding his great color among the vast sea of green. It seems like there is a life lesson in this shot – something about letting your brilliance and uniqueness shine through.

Just a closeup of the fresh rain.

Just a closeup of the fresh rain.

The red vine really stuck out against the deep blue/black of the tree trunk.

The red vine really stuck out against the deep blue/black of the tree trunk.

This and the next 2 shots were inspired heavily by Art Wolfe's Impression series. If you haven't seen them, go take a look - they are truly amazing! He gives nature such a great abstract and painterly feeling.

This and the next 2 shots were inspired heavily by Art Wolfe’s Impression series. If you haven’t seen them, go take a look – they are truly amazing! He gives nature such a great abstract and painterly feeling.

Forest Impressions 2

Forest Impressions 3

Leave a comment