Hawaii – Day 12 & 13: Copters, Canyons, and Refocusing

Hawaii – Day 12 & 13:

So it’s been almost 2 months since I said I would wrap up the Hawaii trip (more on that later). But for now, enjoy a brief recounting and some pictures from our last days in Kauai!

Day 11: Helicopter Tour

And so we begin with probably what was the highlight of the vacation – a helicopter tour of Kauai! Incredible isn’t the word for the scenery on the island. Around every turn and over every hill was a view more stunning than the last. Among other things we saw the Kalalau trail (where we hiked previously), Jurassic Falls (yes, the ones from Jurassic Park), and Mount Waialeale (which averages 400+ inches of rain per year)! You would think being constantly bombarded by beautiful landscapes would eventually get boring, but I know none of us wanted off the helicopter after the hour.

Day 12: Waimea Canyon

On our last full day in Hawaii, we visited Waimea Canyon AKA “The Grand Canyon of the Pacific”. A winding road with numerous awesome viewpoints lead us up to the peak where you are supposed to get an incredible view of the island. However, we got fog so dense we could barely see 20 feet in front of us! That was an unfortunate note, but we still got some great views of the canyon on the day!

And so ended our Hawaii trip. Overall, it was a great trip – we saw some of the most beautiful scenery I’ve ever seen and had some exciting new experiences!

Now, as I said before, it has unfortunately taken me an inordinate amount of time to complete this story of our trip. It hurts me to say that I haven’t been as motivated as I had been in the past and I’ve noticed that keeping up with this blog has become more work than pleasure for me. For that reason, I plan on refocusing myself and my writing/photography. I’m not sure what that means yet. In the near future, it most likely will be an extended break from blogging, though no guarantees on that. I wish to give you all the best writing I can, and lately I feel as though I haven’t lived up to my own personal standards in that regard. I’ve always enjoyed writing this blog a great deal – it’s been an awesome outlet for me and I can only hope that you all have enjoyed it as much as I have. I have quite literally no idea what’s going to happen from here – maybe it’ll be just a break, maybe I’ll modify the theme of the blog to be more than photography and travel, maybe it won’t be either of those. No matter what, I want to thank you all from the bottom of my heart for reading this blog – your support has been nothing less than truly amazing to me. I promise to take you along for the ride wherever I go from here and I sincerely hope that however I take it from here will blow this blog in its current form out of the water! If anyone has any suggestions for me to explore (especially my relatives as you all know me the best), please let me know!

Jurassic Falls (on the right) as seen from the helicopter

Jurassic Falls (on the right) as seen from the helicopter

Probably my favorite shot from the tour

Probably my favorite shot from the tour

Waimea Canyon

Waimea Canyon

I can't remember the name of this section of the tour, but the mountains were absolutely breathtaking here!

I can’t remember the name of this section of the tour, but the mountains were absolutely breathtaking here!

A B&W shot I was trying to bring out the texture of the hills with.

A B&W shot I was trying to bring out the texture of the hills with.

A view out to the ocean from inside a canyon

A view out to the ocean from inside a canyon

Wailua Bay

Wailua Bay

Can't decide if I like the color or B&W version more. What do you think?

Can’t decide if I like the color or B&W version more. What do you think?

_DSC0348

Turtle! The bay near our room always had numerous turtles in it!

Turtle! The bay near our room always had numerous turtles in it!

Just trying to make an artsy shot here :)

Just trying to make an artsy shot here 🙂

My brother and I decided it was a good idea to try sugar cane. It was....interesting. Kind of like sweet straw

My brother and I decided it was a good idea to try sugar cane. It was….interesting. Kind of like sweet straw

Waimea Canyon

Waimea Canyon

Waimea Canyon

Waimea Canyon

Leave a Reply

