Fun with Steel Wool

Has anyone ever seen those awesome pictures people do with steel wool? If not, you should check them out! Anyway, I tried it myself and I think it did make for some crazy looking shots! For anyone interested in trying or if you’re just curious, I’ll tell you how I did it. The setup is simple – get some 0 or finer grade steel wool (mine was 00), stuff some of it into a whisk you don’t care about, then attach a dog leash to the end of the whisk. Then comes the fun part. Light the wool on fire (OUTSIDE!!), grab the end of the leash, and spin that fireball around. I would recommend wearing long sleeves, a hood, and eye protection because flaming pieces of steel wool come flying off everywhere! I triggered the shutter remotely, and set it for 30 seconds, which was about all each run of wool would burn for. I even got some of my family involved – my brother tried a few runs and my dad came out and watched (Mom on the other hand was safely inside). So next time you’re looking for an exciting family activity – I suggest trying steel wool photography!

I tried to get a sphere by turning around in a circle while spinning the wool. This was my best run!

I tried to get a sphere by turning around in a circle while spinning the wool. This was my best run!

My attempted lasso. A little crooked, but I think that was due to the flaming ball I was willingly putting over my head.

My attempted lasso. A little crooked, but I think that was due to the flaming ball I was willingly putting over my head.

Leave a Reply

