Getting Intimate

I think that sometimes the grand landscape can get too much attention. While there are an infinite number of spectacular scenes to see and photograph, I think it’s important to look for nature’s little details as well. Yes, the large-scale landscape will almost always lead to a more immediately arresting and popular photo, it’s in this detail-searching that I feel I connect with the landscape. By getting intimate with nature, we see things that others just pass by – the road-like network of veins in leaves, the countless patterns in moss, or in this case, the tip of a fern just sticking above the snow. To me, this shot tells the story of an underdog – that little guy that everyone overlooked but somehow ends up on top. Kinda cheesy I know, but who doesn’t like an underdog?! Let me know what you guys think!

_DSC8804

One response to “Getting Intimate

Leave a Reply

