5 Goals Before I Graduate

My internship this summer in South Africa coupled with the fact that it’s my senior year of school and I’m about to enter the so-called “real world” has got me thinking more intensely about my life. Although I will have a great degree in Electrical Engineering, there’s always been something lacking in the jobs I’ve held in this field. I can’t really pinpoint it, but I’ve been trying harder to find what that something is. My best guess as of right now is that these jobs don’t fulfill my desire for adventure. I miss that scared feeling when you’re about to try something new. I miss the adrenaline rush. With this in mind, I’ve come up with a list of 5 goals I want to accomplish before graduation. Some of these may be lofty or unspecific, but that’s the point. If I’m ever feeling down or like my dreams are hopeless (which has been happening too much lately), I want to come back to these 5 things and see what I can do to improve my chances.

1) Make some money on photography. It doesn’t have to be much, just a little something to keep me motivated. My eventual goal is, in some way, to make my living in photography. I know it will take time and luck, but as I’ve been told “Luck favors the prepared.

2) Gain a larger blog following. I don’t have any specific numbers in mind, and I know it will take work, but I want to do it. One thing my experience in Africa taught me was that I really enjoy sharing my experience with others and blogging is a great way to do that.

3) Get involved in teaching. Recently, I remembered that the first job I ever wanted was as a teacher. Somewhere along the way, this was completely lost on me, and it really saddened me to discover this. I wouldn’t say I’m a naturally talkative person and I think this has kept me from exploring this interest farther. But, it’s the small talk I’m not good at – if I’m interested in something, I can talk about it all day. I’ve been scared to teach because it’s new to me, and I think I’ve been using my shyness as an excuse not to try.

4) Find a job after graduation that excites me. It can be in any field, just something that I really want.

5) Find out what my passion really is. This has been bothering me the most lately. I think the best way to do this is just simply to try things. I need to get off my a**, out of my own head, and start doing anything that interest me. I tend to let fear of change stop me and I tend to think too much without actual experience. It’s easy to sit around and think all day, but that won’t get me anywhere – I need to get out of my comfort zone and try things.

Leave a Reply

