Florida Sunrise

These are some sunrise shots I took on a trip to Florida back in May of this past year. Although I’m not really a fan of hot weather, the beach is one of my favorite places to photograph. I think the sound of waves crashing onto the sand can be very relaxing and is a great stress release for me. Taking a half hour or so and just sitting down at the beach at sunrise or sunset is one of my favorite things to do, even though I generally like to be up and moving around.

Photographically, I really like the simple compositions the beach offers. There are only two main elements, sand and water, so the challenge becomes what else to add to the scene to form an effective photo. Usually, I am trying to simplify landscapes by eliminating distracting objects, but at the beach, it’s all about the careful addition of elements that complement the simplicity of it all. It’s a nice change-up from the norm.

Taken down the walkway to get to the beach. To me, this shot was meant to portray the energy and possibilities of a new day's arrival.

Taken down the walkway to get to the beach. To me, this shot was meant to portray the energy and possibilities of a new day’s arrival.

Similar to the previous shot,  but framed vertically and with a lighter feel to it.

Similar to the previous shot, but framed vertically and with a lighter feel to it.

2 responses to “Florida Sunrise

Leave a Reply

